New CD Release! Malcolm Arnold

The Magic of Malcolm Arnold Vol. 1 is a double CD set which brings together a first volume of Malcolm Arnold’s exquisite music for brass.

Performances from The Wallace Collection (led by John Wallace), the soloist winners of the 2016 Malcolm Arnold Fantasy Competition (presented by The Wallace Collection) and The National Youth Brass Band of Scotland (senior band), the CD set presents a wonderfully varied and diverse collection of works from the pen of Arnold.

As a befitting launch, The Magic of Malcolm Arnold Vol. 1 was formally released at the 2016 Malcolm Arnold Festival in Northampton on 15th October.  To mark the occasion, the winning soloists and John Wallace came together to create a bespoke quintet – The Young Wallace Collection – to perform a lunchtime concert including, amongst other Arnold repertoire, each of his unaccompanied Fantasy works for brass.

This first volume, double-disc release, marks the start of a legacy recording series of the significant brass repertoire created by Malcolm Arnold.  With the collaborative nature of the recordings it also represents the culmination of a number of innovative outreach projects undertaken by The Wallace Collection.

The 2-CD set includes a 16 page information booklet and offers a wonderful selection of works from this great composer, performed by some of the finest brass musicians of today and tomorrow.

Available to purchase from The Wallace Collection Online Shop, priced £10.99 (+p/p)

CD Back cover and playlist
CD Back cover and playlist

Extract from the CD booklet.

“Malcolm Arnold’s gift for spontaneous melody pervades these discs, the first instalment of a collection, bringing together all of his works for brass, in original and transcription.

This group of works inhabit a period from mid- to late-career for Arnold, when despite his well-documented troubles, he was at the height of his powers. When he did sit down to work, his famed facility allowed a profusion of ideas to flow freely from his pen. His music became more and more succinct.

He had a special and effortless affinity for brass. Perhaps it is this familiarity which allows his deeply contrasted feelings of despair and exuberance to coexist within the same work, as in the coruscating performance of his Symphony heard on the first disc of this set.

A thread of fantasy ran through Arnold’s output from the Grand Fantasia of 1938 to the final Fantasy for Recorder and String Quartet in 1991. This volume of recordings is a tapestry interwoven with the fantasies for solo brass, played by the winners of the Malcolm Arnold Fantasy Competition, from the Royal Academy of Music, Royal Northern College of Music, and Royal Welsh College of Music and Drama.

There are periods of dark brooding melancholy in the Symphony, Quintet No.1 and Fantasy for Brass Band, emphasizing Arnold’s depth, but this serves only to boost the positivity of this collection of his music.”

Disc 1 Playlist

  • Symphony for Brass*
  • Quintet No. 1*
  • Quintet No. 2*
  • Fantasy for Tuba
  • Fantasy for Trombone
  • Fantasy for Horn
  • Fantasy for Trumpet

* The Wallace Collection
⊗ Instrumental Winner of the2016 Malcolm Arnold Fantasy Competion

Disc 2 Playlist

  • Fantasy for Brass Band**
  • Little Suite for Brass Band No. 1**
  • Little Suite for Brass Band No. 2**
  • Little Suite for Brass Band No. 3**
  • The Padstow Lifeboat**

** The National Youth Brass Band of Scotland

A couple of snippets for you to enjoy …

The Magic of Malcolm Arnold Vol. 1 is the first of a series of CD recordings which will collectively include all of Malcolm Arnold’s works for brass.  This double-CD set offers real variety and diversity in its content, engaging listening whilst providing a legacy collection of significant repertoire for brass by Malcolm Arnold.  This first volume also marks the culmination of a number of innovative outreach projects presented and led by The Wallace Collection during the last 12+ months.

Available to purchase from The Wallace Collection Online Shop for just £10.99 (+pp)